Happy New Year! It’s now time for new homeowners to prepare to file their Homestead Exemption. If you bought a home in Texas in 2017, you have until April 30th to file for a residential Homestead Exemption. We have provided you with 6 Tips on how to file your 2017 Homestead Exemption, see below. 

1. What is a Homestead Exemption?  An exemption from property taxes that homeowners can claim. 

2. What does the Homestead Exemption do?  Homestead Exemptions remove part of your home’s value from taxation, so they lower your taxes.  *For example, if your home is appraised at $35,000, and you qualify for a $15,000 exemption, you will pay taxes on the home as if it was worth only $20,000.

3. What type of property qualifies for this exemption?  Your primary residence is the only property that qualifies for a Homestead Exemption. This means the home's owner must live at the home as of January 1st of the tax year, and be an individual (not a corporation or business entity). 

4. What do I need to in order to apply for this exemption?  You will need your Texas driver's license or state ID card, and your vehicle registration receipt. 

5. What form do I need to complete?  You’ll need to file an Application for Residential Homestead Exemption with the county appraisal district.  (See a list of counties below.)

6. When do I need to complete this by?  This must be filed between January 1st and April 30th of the tax year - or up to one year after you pay your taxes.  

*Please note: If you turn 65 or become disabled, you must apply for the 65 or older/disabled exemption no later than one year from the qualification date. Once you receive an exemption, you don’t need to reapply again unless the chief appraiser sends you a new application. In that case, you must file the new application. If you should move or your qualifications end, you need to inform the appraisal district in writing before the next May 1. Select your county below to get started today! Remember don't wait to file your homestead exemption for 2017! 


• Dallas County

• Collin County

• Denton County

• Ellis County

• Hunt County

• Johnson County

• Kaufman County

• Rockwall County

• Tarrant County 

• Wise County