2020 has officially arrived and it's time to start thinking about tax season! (We know, we know- your favorite time of the year!) However, tax season can bring some pretty sweet perks for homeowners who bought a home in the state of Texas in 2019. Starting January 1st until April 20th, 2020, every homeowner has the opportunity to submit an application for the residential Homestead Exemption for their primary residence. We've put together some frequently asked questions when filing your exemption, along with all the resources you will need to get started today!

What is a Homestead Exemption?

The Homestead Exemption is essentially an exemption from property taxes that can be claimed by homeowners on their primary residence. 

What is the purpose of the Homestead Exemption do?

Homestead Exemptions remove part of your home’s value from taxation, so they lower your taxes. (For example, if your home is appraised at $350,000, and you qualify for a $25,000 exemption, you will pay taxes on the home as if it was worth only $325,000.

What type of property qualifies for this exemption?

Your primary residence is the only property that qualifies for a Homestead Exemption. This means the home's owner must live at the home as of January 1st of the tax year, and be an individual (not a corporation or business entity). 

How do I apply for this exemption?

You will need your Texas driver's license or state ID card. From there, you’ll need to file the Application for Residential Homestead Exemption with the county appraisal district. File with supporting documentation with the appraisal district office in each county in which the property is located generally between January 1st and April 30th of the year for which the exemption is requested. We have a FULL LIST of counties and their website/ contact information below!

What is the deadline for my Homestead Exemption application?

This must be filed between January 1st and April 30th of the tax year - or up to one year after you pay your taxes.

Please note: If you turn 65 or become disabled, you must apply for the 65 or older/disabled exemption no later than one year from the qualification date. Once you receive an exemption, you don’t need to reapply again unless the chief appraiser sends you a new application. In that case, you must file the new application. If you should move or your qualifications end, you need to inform the appraisal district in writing before the next May 1st.

Are there any other types of property tax exemptions that I may qualify for?

Yes! For a full list of property tax exemptions, check out the Comptroller's guide HERE!

Ready to get started?

Download the application HERE and then check out our handy list of local County Appraisal District websites and phone numbers for Austin, San Antonio, Corpus Christi and Belton-Temple below:


Travis County | 512-834-9138

Williamson County | 512-930-3787

Hays County | 512-268-2522

Bastrop County | 512-303-1930

Blanco County | 830-868-4013

Burnet County | 512-756-8291

Lee County | 979-542-9618

Caldwell County | 512-398-5550


Bexar County | 210-224-8511

Comal County |830-625-8597

Guadalupe County | 830-372-2871

Wilson County | 830-393-3065

Atascosa County | 830-569-8326

Medine County | 830-741-3035

Bandera County | 830-796-3039

Kerr County | 830-895-5223


Nueces County | 361-881-9978

Kleberg County | 361-595-5775

Jim Wells County | 361-668-9656

San Patricio County | 361-364-5402

Aransas County | 361-729-9733


Bell County | 254-939-5841

Burnet County | 512-756-8291

Lampasas County | 512-556-8058

Coryell County | 254-865-6593

McLennan County | 254-752-9864

Falls County | 254-883-2543

Milam County | 254-697-6638

Williamson County | 512-930-3787